Clay Banks

The World Development Report (WDR) is the World Bank’s annual guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today. It has been published since 1978. 2021’s WDR will focus on data, and the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data to be a part of their consultation process.

On Wednesday, June 3 we are hosting a consultation webinar, alongside the WDR team. It provides a space to understand diverse perspectives on this critical development issue. The webinar will run twice to allow participation from different time zones, so please feel free to choose the one that better suits your schedule:

Please register via Zoom to the first webinar >> 5:00-6:30AM EDT / 9:00-10:30AM GMT / 12:00-1:30PM EAT / 5:00-6:30PM PHT

Please register via Zoom to the second webinar >> 10:00-11:30AM ECT / 11:00AM-12.30PM EDT / 3:00-4:30PM GMT / 6:00-7:30PM EAT

All three WDR 2021 Co-Directors will be joining the webinar (Bob Cull, Vivien Foster, and Dean Joliffe), as well as Malarvizhi Veerappan, who is managing the report. Our CEO, Claire Melamed, will moderate the conversation and several of our partners will provide direct input:

  • Webinar #1 -- Lisa Bersales (Professor of Statistics, University of the Philippines’ School of Statistics) and Aidan Eyakuze (Executive Director, Twaweza)
  • Webinar #2 -- Aidan Eyakuze (ED, Twaweza), Deepa Karthykeyan (Co-Founder and Director, Athena Infonomics), and Ana Patricia Muñoz (Executive Director, Grupo Faro).

The concept note, which is now available for consultation, discusses how the value of data is largely untapped, lays out the conceptual framework to help guide our thinking, and reflects on the current data landscape and the environment needed to enable the use and reuse of data while safeguarding against misuse.

The consultation will gather input from the audience on the following topics/questions:

  • Examples of how data have directly helped to improve the lives of poor people in your community
  • What are examples of policies or tools that effectively safeguard against the misuse of data and prevent harm, while enabling us to untap its full value to benefit the wellbeing of people?
  • What data governance and policy reforms are needed for less developed countries to benefit from the data economy?

Please join this important conversation and help us in ensuring our collective voice enrichens this process.

This Story is About These SDGs

  

Contributing Partners

The World Bank - IBRD - IDA - World Bank Group
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development.